Skip to main content

Add a Layer

Adding a new layer

The data flow


To create a new layer you need to import data (see below for supported formats). The process is as follows:

  1. Raw survey data is processed to create a file that's ready for import.
  2. ResultingThe resulting file is imported into GRIDit, creating a new layer.
  3. GRIDit Storesstores this data and archives the file used to import the data. This archived file can be downloaded at anytime but won't contain any changes .

When importing a data

@mermaid
flowchart LR
    n1["Survey Raw Data"] --> B{"Process Data"}
    B --> n2["Processed Data"]
    n2 --> C{"Import into GRIDit"}
    C --> n3["New layer"]

    n1@{ icon: "fa:file", pos: "b"}
    n2@{ icon: "fa:file"}
    n3@{ shape: procs}

data import mermaid.png

Supported file formats


The following file formats are supported:

Data types.pngraster-vector.png

How to add a layer


There are two ways to add a new layer:

  • Drag and drop a file from your explorer on the chart. The ‘upload layer' window will open automatically.
  • Click the + button at the top of the layer menu and select ‘add layer'.

The Upload Layer File window will open automatically (see below).

add-a-layer-upload_file.png

GRIDit will import the data and make it visible in the project . If you would also like to save a copy of the file in its original format for archival purposes, clock ‘upload source files'. 

If appropriate, add the file to a layer group and/or select an ‘object type'.

Exporting a layer


In some cases users would like to export a layer to use in another software application. For this you should use the export layer functionality. It's important to differentiate that exporting data is not the same as downloading a file that is stored within a layer.

Sharing Layers


When GRIDit users with a ‘reader’ license upload a new layer, it will automatically be set to ‘private'. Only the user themselves can view the layer.

GRIDit users with ‘admin' or ‘contributor' licenses can share the layers that they upload by toggling the ‘private layer’ slider to the right. The layers will be shared with other users within your project. They will not be visible to anyone outside your project.

Editing a Layer


Users with a reader license can edit their own private layers. Users with an admin or contributor license can edit all layers. See Edit Layers page for details.